what’s in a name…

Things related to race usually don’t bother me as much as other people, but for some reason this e-mail really got me mad.  I guess it’s because the survey people were trying to seem all understanding and PC about race issues on campus and then start right off the bat calling me by the wrong name:

“Dear Cho:

Syracuse University is currently engaged in a study of student experiences on campus. As part of this effort, we invite you to participate in an online survey for undergraduate students. The survey will take about 15 minutes to complete and covers a range of topic areas, including:

  • Classroom and major experiences
  • Peer interactions
  • Campus environment and institutional practices
  • Coming to and staying at SU

The survey results will provide us with a better understanding of the campus experience, with a focus on issues of race and ethnicity. The experiences of all students and groups are important to the University, and we encourage you to share your perceptions…”

So here is my response…maybe I should have chilled for three seconds before hitting send lol:

“To Whom It May Concern,

I will fill out your survey out of courtesy, but maybe the first thing you can do in order to not offend those of color on campus is to address them by their correct and respective names, especially in e-mails when you clearly have enough time and exposure to resources to do so.  Cho is my last name, not my first.  I understand that may be an ambiguous and difficult thing for those of Caucasian descent to figure out, but it is something that is CLEARLY marked on all of my school records as well as the SU E-mail Directory, which I am assuming was utilized for this mass message.

I hope that helps you on your path towards “a better understanding of the campus experience, with a focus on issues of race and ethnicity.”

Sincerely,
Minhee Cho
(American name still TBD)”

I wonder if any of these survey people will have the balls to reply back to my e-mail…

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “what’s in a name…

  1. i feel ur pain

    all the stuff that the university/government sends me says “dear Hee, To Hee, Mr. Hee,”
    xD

  2. angela

    HAHAHAHA. YOU GO GIRL.

Leave a Reply

